Indigo

blogimaget“You said this morning…”

“I said I wanted you here this morning.” Elliott tugged his sleeve. “You need to run a sample for us.”

“Seriously?”

“Test someone.”

Sid’s fingers tapped. “Who?”

“Me.”

Her head started shaking before the words pushed out of her mouth. “No, no, no, no, no. That would not be a good idea. Pick a uniform… or your receptionist. Anyone else.”

“We need to know how accurate the evaluation…”

“You mean you want to know how accurate I am.”

Elliott didn’t answer.

Sid’s mind raced for an excuse. “I don’t know if I can do two sessions in one day.”

“I asked Roth. She said you could if you had a good room. Which you apparently have.”

“Yeah, well, she’s not the one testing. And if you have a question, you should talk to me.”

“So you can’t do a full day’s work.”

“That’s not…” She paused. “You said I could have a whole day with Clemons.”

“We’ll bring him back tomorrow if you need the time. You are getting paid. More hours than you work.”

“I didn’t make that deal.” Sid tapped and twitched and got up, paced, and sat down again as Elliott watched. Finally, she let out a long breath and nodded. “Sit down.”

The room was quiet as Sid got out papers and cued up her programs. She could almost taste the smirk on Elliott’s face.

“Okay, we’re going to run a series of tests. Some will be…”

“Look, you can skip all this. I…”

“I’m running the tests, not you, Detective.”

She glared coldly at him and Elliott suddenly felt more vulnerable than he liked.

“Relax. It won’t hurt.”

“How do you know I won’t lie?” the detective said as he watched her open a notebook to a clean page. “Just to throw you.”

Sid ignored the question. “Okay, your first test is an easy one. Standard intelligence. Stanford-Binet. Should be a breeze.”  She pulled up the test on the computer, sat back, and waited.

“You’re going to watch?”

She folded her arms and waited.

It took him more time than she thought. And through it all, she watched Elliott. Made him sweat. It was stupid, but gave Sid the pleasant sensation of power. When he finished, she silently pulled out some cards, shuffled through them.

“No one uses the TAT anymore,” Elliott said.

“I do.”

“It’s not effective.”

“And who is running the tests, Detective?” she said coldly. “Could you please turn away?”

“You’re kidding.”

Sid sat forward, leaning into him. “You want to see how I work? This is how I work.”

 

Previous Post
Leave a comment

Leave a Reply

